Another shady email
Look what I got, and email with the subject : RECORD CONTRACT from "wr@statuerecords.com"
Regarding the materials on your web site.
I am interested in the materials on your site. Statue is a major
independent record company and would like to discuss the possibility of
releasing this material and doing some radio promotion on it.
If your record is available for licensing and distribution please contact
me at your earliest opportunity by sending me an email to
wr@statuerecords.com
Best Regards,
Warren Ryan
Manager A&R
Statue Records Group Los Angeles
wr@statuerecords.com
Statuerecords.com
Emailed From http://www.mp3unsigned.com
I'm thinking it's a scam, but I wrote back for more info. The email doesn't even mention our band by name so I'm guessing it's a generic one they send to a bunch of bands.

7 Comments:
Isn't it funny how every time we get an email from somebody who wants to promote us we automatically think it's a scam? The problem is we're always right.
Well, I did my research. I checked out the record company's web site, and they have like a thousand bands nobody has ever heard of signed. So, I thought maybe this is a scam with a thousand fake bands signed, so I started googeling those bands and they all come up with web sites. The record company seems to be for real. As for quality? We'll see.
I googled up 'statue records scam' and this was the first result--
http://tunesmith.net/.ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic&f=28&t=000041
Wow.
it amazes me how many scammers there are out there...
i mean i guess it doesn't.. but its just sad
Good job HoSco! Thanks for doing that!
DREAM SOLDIERS
The above rap group would like to have a contract deal with shady records, i.e the record label will produce the demo and the profit will be shared as follows: 50% for shady and 50% for dream soldiers. we are fans from nigeria. Reply via this address: nab213 @yahoo.com
Post a Comment
<< Home